Registered
1,843 Posts
Re: 1/4 times on \'05 2.3L

Get those 60 foots down and you will be good

·
9 and 3 Damnit! 9 AND 3!!!!!!!
9,347 Posts

you should be lots lower than that you will be faster as you better those driving skills

·
Registered
2,945 Posts

you should be lots lower than that you will be faster as you better those driving skills
Disable the traction control dude.

·
Registered
2,611 Posts

wow, is that car an auto?

how do you run a almost 12 second 1/8th with the 2.3
in my old focus i ran a 10.2 stock in the 8th. :-\

Brent

·
Registered
3,589 Posts
Discussion Starter #6

thats why I didn't want to post these, but others said I should... I am NEW at running the 1/4 mile... those were my first two runs ever... I am taking off at the wrong times and shifting at the wrong times... eg: before 6500RPM which I shouldn't be doing... I gotta practice more...

·
Registered
2,611 Posts

Shift when you start feeling the car lose power or its not pulling as hard. I mean the MPH is nice, but yeah.

brent

·
Registered
2,945 Posts

Disable the traction control dude.
What I mean by this is that you should disable the traction control by yanking the relay out from the under hood fuse box when you are at the track.

That will shave a bit off your times.

·
Registered
8,101 Posts

eg: before 6500RPM which I shouldn't be doing... I gotta practice more...
Actually, it's best not to hold a non-cammed 2.3 until redline. The cams make little power above 6,000, and you run the risk of a nasty valve float. But then, I don't have any 1/4 experience either, so there may be an advantage I'm not seeing.

·
Registered
3,589 Posts
Discussion Starter #10

hmm, does traction control enable even though I have it turned off via the button?

pitchblack23: thanks for the tip...

·
Registered
2,945 Posts

hmm, does traction control enable even though I have it turned off via the button?
Unfortunatly yes it does.