Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
403 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm trying to make up my mind and thought I would ask the people I trust. I don't autocross or race (yet), but I just love twisties.

I have Eibach Pro springs with Koni Yellows set on max firm. As of now It's comfortable (if that's the correct word) but more on the understeer side. So I'm thinking 22mm or 24mm rear bar? What would you guys suggest? Would the 22mm give me only a little less understeer? Would the 24mm put me in oversteer? I'm just learning so please bare with me.
I appreciate your feedback.

·
Don't Call Me Gaga!
30,267 Posts
I would recommend running the least amount of bar that you need.

... and by "need" I mean what makes the car handle to your tastes.

22mm is a 10% increase, and 24 is a 20% increase.

I can always sell a 22mm if you'd like to alter rotation further.

Also, why are you running your Konis on full hard? Use them as a tuning tool... start somewhere in the middle and go from there. Less shock in the front would likely help your understeer a bit.

·
Registered
1,607 Posts
22mm would be plenty enough for you. Just a couple mm is sufficient to change the balance.

The 24mm are for those who put stiffer bars up front and need such thick bars to restore handling balance.

Never mind the reinforcment work on the suspension you'd need to handle bars like that.

·
Don't Call Me Gaga!
30,267 Posts
The 24mm are for those who put stiffer bars up front and need such thick bars to restore handling balance.
Not always. Our H Stock car had plenty of rotation with a 24mm up front and a stocker in the rear.

·
Registered
12,749 Posts
Bar thickness is a suspension tuning tool, just like adjustable dampers, spring rates, etc.. they have to work together.

So if your experiencing understeer, you have two choices IMO (three choices if you have adjustabe ride height).

1) thicker rear bar / smaller front bar
2) softer front springs / stiffer rear springs