Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
WHERES MY KEYS?!?
2,743 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
total newb when it comes to auto cross but its something i want to get into in the next year or so...

1st question is street legal cars vs. non street legal. if i show up with a car that wont smog but looks like a street car (ie boosted zts) and it isn't on a trailer am i in trouble?

2nd question looking at this grid http://www.odr-scca.org/DIY-classing.htm
it appears if i run boost i'll be in the SM class. are there any required modifications i should be aware of by being in that class? IE: i need 5 points, roll bar.

again sorry for the newb questions but my cars gremlins are about all worked out so i dont want to start throwing money on motor upgrades without knowing what i'm getting into.

·
Registered
2,150 Posts
1. No you will be just fine.
2. Should be just fine with stock safety equipment. Those are just rules to let you know what modifications are permitted in your class.
3. Sm is street mod. Smf is street mod fwd. And dont know about the ssm. But for the most part they allow being gutted out and running a more race car set up that is still some what street drivable.

When I go auto crossing I usaly stick with smf so I don't have to compet with the miata. But sometimes tech might catch me and bump me up to street prepared for the solid mounts.

Just bring a helmet and be low on fuel and get ready for a fun afternoon

·
Grand Master Mabel listens to Death Metal and flip
7,145 Posts
Everything just posted is correct. If you're car is not street legal, the SCCA takes no responsibility for it; its your ticket.