Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11,123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok guys, this is the stuff you're looking for. A bunch of former race fuel engineers talking on a racing forum. I would consider this information to be the gospel:

http://corner-carvers.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&postid=128220#post128220

This would be a good idea to distill down this info and put it on that Focalnet-x page.

Usual warning, please don't register on cc.com and ask newbie retard questions. I'll get in trouble. They like to keep things at a higher level there, I'm still a newbie retard.

·
Banned
17,312 Posts
Nice Reference Rob....

I wonder how all of this might apply to an "Auto-X/Race Day" w/ a simple Diablo Chip?
Would a Mild Blend of the Xylene against some 93 Octane Provide a useable benefit?

BTW, If you haven't already, I would post those links in Forced Induction.
i won't complain about Cross-Posting, and I'm sure Ron wouldn't mind on something like this.

·
Registered
3,350 Posts
Nice Reference Rob....

I wonder how all of this might apply to an "Auto-X/Race Day" w/ a simple Diablo Chip?
Would a Mild Blend of the Xylene against some 93 Octane Provide a useable benefit?

BTW, If you haven't already, I would post those links in Forced Induction.
i won't complain about Cross-Posting, and I'm sure Ron wouldn't mind on something like this.
From my understanding on a NA car, the extra octane does very little unless the valve timing can be changed significantly. However, on a FI car the extra octane allows running of uberboost.
(I have a buddy that had a 89 Turbo TA with over 20 pounds of boost set on track days. He ran a HEAVY xylene mixture--his family business just happens to be printing so they buy it by the drum
. That was the spookiest street car I have ever been in. I saw that car come out of turn 7 at Blackhawk Farms behind a ZR1 Vette and by the time they got to turn 1, the TA was up 6-8 car lengths. It was a low 11 second car, IIRC).

·