Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
I change diapers now
14,444 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After a questionable compression test last week, I wanted to try it once more with and without some oil in the cylinders.

2003 2.3 175,000 abused miles

Going to go by cylinder, with and without 1/2 cap of oil in a row;

Cylinder 1

Cylinder 2

Cylinder 3

Cylinder 4

Going to perform a leak down test this weekend. I'll take opinions on this for now.

- Drew

·
I change diapers now
14,444 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The change with oil is the odd thing for me.

Cylinder two is low. But it improved the exact same amount as the other cylinders with a half cap of oil.

So. Is it a ring issue with 2? Is it a ring issue with any of them?

Do I have worn valve seats? Worn cams? Burnt valves?

They all improved the exact same amount via the same amount of oil. So why is that when one cylinder is noticeably lower than the other but shows the same improvement?

I'm not good with engine work so please. I need ideas on what to look for.

Doing a leak down test shortly.

- Drew

·
TEAM Member
939 Posts
You have around a 30 psi change from dry to wet test on all cylinders..that tells me all cylinders have an even amount of ring/bore wear. Your low # 2 could be from bad valves seats etc.

·
Registered
5,177 Posts
You have around a 30 psi change from dry to wet test on all cylinders..that tells me all cylinders have an even amount of ring/bore wear. Your low # 2 could be from bad valves seats etc.
That's kinda how I see it too

·
Registered
1,209 Posts