Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
2,748 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm moving and unfortunately extending the distance I commute somewhat significantly. I was wondering if anyone has written a tune aimed at increasing fuel economy?

·
Registered
3,456 Posts
Doubtful.
What you would pay for a tune like this would prolly outweigh the $ savings in gas, if any.

Buy a new 2012 focus or fiesta or a hybrid or ride a bicycle.

·
Registered
2,748 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hmm, Focus SFE $20K, Fiesta, $16K, Biking 160 miles each day...doubtful.

Flasher w/program $400

If I can bump my MPG up by 2 or 3 the payoff time is less than a year. Yes I did the math, it's pretty simple and I graduated High School a long time ago.

·
Registered
5 Posts
How many people would it take to start a Economy tune?? Is it just the work involved in data loging and constant back and forth info?? Cause I think it would pay off for both the consumer (me) and you. I know the loose nut behind the wheel has the biggest input on milage. Just wondering??

Thanks, CJ

·
Registered
466 Posts
I think that an economy tune would be pretty sweet. You have companies now that are going with smaller displacement motors. Being able to acheive a 2-3 more mpg consistently would be nice, especially if you could do it for a couple hundred dollars. I would definitely go for that. Right now a tank will take me about 360-370 miles. But if I could break the 400 mile mark that would be really nice.

·
Registered
2,748 Posts
Discussion Starter #10

·
Registered
24,330 Posts
Not sure about this. Thing is, there's nothing that can really be done that is going to make a significant difference that isn't already being done. The factory will usually run the car pretty fat at WOT. And that is something I address, as most would. The rest of the time you are running at stoich unless you want to run leaner, but it's not going to make enough of a difference in most cases.