Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
480 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in the research process of getting a motorcycle. I have never ridden, but I have always wanted to learn. I do not want a nut rocket, I want a cruiser. I have been looking and reading, and since I have no experience it looks like a 250 is the bet choice. But I know how I am, I am going to want more power real quick. Is the 250 powerful enough to keep me interested? Also I am trying to keep it under $3-4K for the first bike, and I am not against buying used. One bike I came across was the Honda Rebel, MSRP $2995 new. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
24 Posts
Some good choices would a liitle more than youre price range
but not by much. The 250 once you learn will lose its charm really quick so I would suggest a kawasaki vulcan 800 or a yamaha V star 650 both can be found for about $4000 if you get a year or two old model with very low milage.They will also keep youre interest once you learn how to ride.Both bikes also have a strong after market following

·
Registered
155 Posts
250cc do lose their charm quickly but they also have an advantage of preventing you from doing very stupid stuff. I went from 250cc to 1200cc and it nearly cost me my life (ever hit a speed bump at 130mph?)

250cc is a great starter bike. If you really feel that you need more beef go for 600cc range but remember you are not John Rambo.

·
Registered
2,269 Posts
I'll probably be getting my first bike at the end of the year. I'm hoping to get a used GSXR 750

·
Registered
6,296 Posts
I'll probably be getting my first bike at the end of the year. I'm hoping to get a used GSXR 750
please don't say that you're going to start out on a Gixxer...

·
Registered
3,051 Posts