Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got an '02 ZX5 focus. It's engine has 4 valves per cylinder (16v). I have never modified a car, but i was wondering if anyone can help me with any mods that will improve performance with horsepower, fuel economy, or acceleration. Thanks so much
i am new to this so ANY idea would be great

·
Registered
292 Posts
intake (whether it be a K&N drop in, or an aftermarket intake) and exaust would be the first things i'd do.. new throttle body, sct or diablo chip will give you some options, underdrive pulleys, the list goes on for miles. but the intake and exaust should be a good start to get you off the ground. be sure to check out all the forums, and read older posts too, there's enough info on here to be worth the servers wieght in gold.
and welcome to teh jet

·
Devil's Advocate. Just to cheese you off.
6,880 Posts
I'll tell you what... FocusSport's SCT bumped up my HP, Torque, top speed (no limiter), accelleration, driveability (no EGR/DPFE problems) AND fuel economy, all in one fell swoop.

Talk to randy at www.focussport.com about the FS/SCT Chips or go to http://www.focussport.com/chips.htm

He'll hook you up.

If you need to know what your PCM Code is, Click here

If you want to see how to install a chip, it's not too bad, I have instructions here

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
intake (whether it be a K&N drop in, or an aftermarket intake) and exaust would be the first things i'd do.. new throttle body, sct or diablo chip will give you some options, underdrive pulleys, the list goes on for miles. but the intake and exaust should be a good start to get you off the ground.
Thanks for the reply but if you could maybe dumb it down a bit, i'm still not quite sure what all this means
a little more explanation and of what these options are would help a lot! thanks

·
Devil's Advocate. Just to cheese you off.
6,880 Posts