Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4,007 Posts
I'm done. I have been there and done that.

Still like cars but am content to leave the next one alone.

Getting older and have a baby on the way, so its time to grow up some and change priorities.

Looking at the new Volvo S40. Looks good out of the box

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
Never going to happen to me. I get it from my Dad he is 56 and I'll be fixing his blown head gasket tomorrow and next week installing his new T4 Turbo and log style upper intake manifold.

2 BAR here we come!!

·
Registered
1,521 Posts
Some people collect stamps, some people modify cars. It's a hobby. Maybe it's genetic, my father was a mechanical engineer and I don't remember him every having an unmodified car; I was a shop teacher and I have never had an unmodified vehicle.

The older folks in that thread seem to be in their 30's to 40's which would put in the middle phase of car mods. During the first phase in the teens and 20's, your funding is limited but you still make some fairly radical mods to your daily driver using every dime you can scrape up. During your 30's and 40's, you have other demands for your money, so mods are limited to small appearance and ICE mods. After 50, when you are a little more financially secure, mods get more radical and are mostly done to *project cars*.

·
Registered
795 Posts
What I've been saying all along... Simple mods are OK, but dumping [censored]loads of money into a car that has very little resale...NAH!

If I want to spend an extra $50, $100, $200 a month on my car, I'll buy a more expensive car.

I like my near stock ZX3 because it handles superbly, has enough speed to keep up with most cars on the road, gets reasonable mileage, and is cheap to insure.

·
Registered
723 Posts