Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
321 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been driving for the past 2 months with this:
CAI, ported TB and early 00 manifold, Race header and AF/X crank pulley. And for some reason, I felt like the car was not producing the power it should. Then I got a great deal on a bosal flex and catback. OMG I love my car so much now !!!!!!!!!! I feel like so much power was blocked before and it has just been unlocked !!

Anyways, now I was thinking about some cam gears to maximize the gains but I have no idea how to adjust them.
What is intake and exhaust cam and where should they be placed. Also, does any of you have tips on how I should set them for my 3 runs ( o,o , .... )

I'm really confused about how to do it.

Thanks for your help,
Marc.

·
Registered
1,642 Posts
It's amazing how something so little can unlock so much power. I wish I had a catback,intake, and new headers.

·
Registered
2,838 Posts
If you don't what cam gears are or where they go, I would suggest moving to an easier bolt-on project. Unless you plan on have someone else install them and tune them for you. If you do this then you don't have to worry about adjusting them yourself, since you don't know how to do that either.
But if you want the answers to your questions, here they are:
-Cams gear are circular pieces of metal driven by a belt (or chain) that rotate your cam shafts.
-They should be placed on the passenger side of the cam shafts
-It won't matter where you have them set for your three runs, because your going to adjust them between each run anyways.
-You adjust them by taking an allen wrench (in most cases) and loosening the bolts around the cam gear and then using a wrench to advance or retard the gear.

Thats as BASIC as it gets

·
Registered
321 Posts
Discussion Starter #4