Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
321 Posts
Well, as far as I can see, you need to filter out your breather for car health reasons, and you need to re-circulate the gas coming for human health resons.

After seeing the oil in my stock "filter" foam (back when I was a newbie) I refused to connect that hose anywhere close to the intake system. So I got a K&N breather filter (it's cheap) and let the hose pollute the air through it... And ı had my custom intake system built without a breather port....

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thats what i'm having done early next week, but was just looking at other ways instead of having to get a new K&N filter as well as a breather filter.

·
Registered
3,248 Posts
If your talking about the hose coming from the valve cover to the intake pipe, you shouldn't be getting any oil residue from it introduced into the intake pipe. That hose is an air inlet into the crankcase so that air will flow through your crankcase and through the PCV valve, so any oil you get through it into your intake system should be introduced directly into the intake manifold. And you can install a small filter into the hose hooked to the valve cover without any worry of poluting the air, it's filtered simply to keep dust and crap from being drawn into your crankcase. However, if you are getting an oily residue into your intake pipe from the crankcase inlet tube then you may have other issues to worry about. Either your PCV system is malfunctioning or you have severe blow by indicating possibly worn rings etc.

·
Registered
84 Posts
If you want an idea of what is happening.