Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
11,123 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, it's finally done. Ok, it's not finished yet, I still have to set up the pump, reservoir and cooler. But the intercooler and charge tubing is all done and that was the hard part.

I managed to shoehorn that huge Spearco A/W core in, but it took a lot of underhood reengineering. I had to relocate the brake/clutch fluid reservoir over to the passenger side firewall. I also had to drop the relay box down. And replace the upper rad hose and one of the heater hoses going to that plastic water rail on the upper rad support.

The key to the whole thing, and the only way to make it fit, was using the cast aluminum elbows from ATP. They seem like nice pieces, and weld well. I'm no expert welder, but they came very clean with no mold material sticking to them, and welded fine with no weird offgassing or cracking.

I remade the upper rad hose out of silicone heater hose elbows from an industrial shop.

I've also made a bracket out of aluminum that mounts to the driver's side engine mount frame stanchion.

I still have a few things left to do, in addition to the water plumbing. I am going to install the Forge Motorsport dual piston BOV this morning, and I need to make some sort of bracketry to hold the relay box. I need to be careful because the positive battery wires go into it, and it's now very close to the shifter.

The aluminum charge pipe comes very close to the header which concerns me. So I heat shielded the crap out of it. First I installed self-adhesive fiberglass/alumimum heat shield wrap. Then I wrapped that with 309 Stainless foil. It's just something my tool shop uses for wrapping parts they are going to be heat treating. I intend to eventually replace the foil with a SS/Fiberglass corrugated sleeve if they make it in that size.