Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2,838 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is this photoshop\'d?

This is from the official WRC wesite, but I'm still confused. If it is, what should I look for to know? I'm kinda new to this stuff so help me out. The backround is blurry with means the camera moved while the shutter was open, right? But why isn't the car blurry?

·
Registered
2,181 Posts
Re: Is this photoshop\'d?

Thats easy to do. When you use a relatively slow shutter speed (like 1/125th-1/250th for auto racing) and follow the subject (rally car) as it moves across your field of view, it is actulyl not moving with respect to the film plane (your camera), but the back ground is..there fro you get sharp subject w/ a blury background.

I played with this on my new Canon 10D at a recent autocross adn fond that 1/125th is a pretty good shutter speed that makes the subject in sharp focus and the background a blurry mess!!! But I think you have to play with it. I even went as slow as 1/90th!!! hope that helps...G'Luck...

*EDIT* Although when I lok at it againg this guy proabably used like a 1/500th or 1/750th or maybe slightly faster shutter speed, cause the background didn't move very much...so the shot happened quickly. That is all assuming its real...which it can be...photographically speaking...

CCC

·
Registered
2,181 Posts

Heres a decent example that I took @ an extremely slow 1/90th of a second shutter speed and the car still is in relative focus...but it is not moving completely across the film plane...but you get the idea...

CCC

·
Registered
242 Posts

I think it was faked.

Notice how the shadow has no penumbra (fuzzy, lighter edge)?

Shadows do not tend to have such sharp edges unless the object casting the shadow is very close to the surface it is casting that shadow on.

As sharp as that shadow is, the car should be only a few inches off the ground. Looks more like a few feet to me.

·
Look under the curve... UNDER THE CURVE!
3,134 Posts