Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
340 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have the ability to make a rear stress bar for very cheap.

I can get some 1.5" by .065 tubing from work and am wondering how the rear stress bar is mounted and how long the tubing used is. Any help any one of you can give me is greatly appreciated.

·
RECORD PROFITS
5,297 Posts
Eh, I would just buy one. There only like $70, and I know it supposed to be perfectly straight.

·
Registered
340 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I make drivelines for a living...making the tube straight and welding anything i need to will be easy. All i need are measurements. I can save the 70 bucks and use that to go racing this weekend.

·
Registered
2,611 Posts
You drill a hole in each fender well and a bolt goes through into the bar and tightens down, so you would have to put a plate on the end of the tube with a nut welded to the inside so you can tighten down on it.

Brent

·
Banned
17,312 Posts
What stresses are you hoping to eliminate?
If you're doing a simple straight bar, you're making a towel-rack.
If you REALLY want to do it right, and have ANY effect on the car, triangulation and Welding will be required.
How serious are you on this?

·
Registered
340 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
As for an autoX car i don't believe you need a roll cage. Thats just extra weight. You can get the car stiff enough with just a few braces and some tying together of the chassis underneath.

BTW...what information are you using that show a simple straight bar is more or less a towel rack?

·
Registered
24,330 Posts
What stresses are you hoping to eliminate?
If you're doing a simple straight bar, you're making a towel-rack.
If you REALLY want to do it right, and have ANY effect on the car, triangulation and Welding will be required.
How serious are you on this?

Just what I expected. Am I right in thinking that you've never tried a rear stress bar?

·
Registered
1,843 Posts
I have a focus sport stress bar