Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, newbie here,

Looking for some advise on what to add to my mostly stock '00 sedan (MTX) to get me more low end pull. This is my daily driver and I keep it under 4000 rpm, but I want to make it a bit more fun to drive. I've dug through the archive looking at UDPs and intakes but can't tell what would help the best. Any tips on where to start?

Thanks!

·
LET'S GO RIDE BIKES
2,760 Posts
So far I've done the UDP, a custom Magnaflow catback and a AEM style cold air intake. My car is a daily driver that occasionally goes to autocross events and I'm quite impressed with the way my mods have livened up the engine. I have no idea as to how much horsepower and torque I'm putting down but the "fun to drive" factor is very high
My low end power seems better with the CAI. I can pull out of corners better than without it.

[ 02-12-2003, 02:55 PM: Message edited by: robbyracer ]

·
You Can't Make Me Laugh
4,566 Posts
I'd say a throttle body, and/or an exhaust,
flex pipe, race header combo.
Go with an exhaust first (what most people do)
but don't go too large in diamiter cuz you will lose low end power.

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the tips, keep 'em comin'!

·
Driver > Car
23,988 Posts
that race header might cost you low end torque...

try out a chip (yes i know it's a manual... the diablochip definately helped out my low end power).

·
Registered
94 Posts
Originally posted by demonfire:
that race header might cost you low end torque...

try out a chip (yes i know it's a manual... the diablochip definately helped out my low end power).
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">A 4-2-1 design race header will give you more torque, 4-1 design will give you top end

·
Registered
18,488 Posts
^^^very tru it will, but did u here wat he said? neither did i, cuz if u go wit a race header on a daily driver U'LL BE DEAF!
...not to mention not pass emittions
-chris

·