Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm a newb from Santa Cruz. Just picked up an '02 Focus SVT today. I found this site referenced from Grassroots Motorsports website while I was doing my research on the car.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Nice. I swear I used to see more Focus SVT's around the bay area back in the day.

BTW, would you happen to know a shop in the South Bay that I can trust to replace my timing belt?

·
HELLAFRUSH
9,744 Posts
What part of Santa Cruz? I grew up on the east side and then in Aptos where my parents still are.

Many years ago...

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'm on the Westside near UCSC. Aptos is nice. How long ago did you live here? The one bad thing here is the lack of good restaurants. I need to get my Focus registered so I can go drive Hwy 9!

·
HELLAFRUSH
9,744 Posts
I moved up to Sac in August 2008. Definitely a great food scene up here.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I'm trying to find a place to get my timing belt done locally in Santa Cruz. I tried R&D Motorsports and they told me they don't even have the tools to work on it. They work on Euro cars like Porsches and BMW's but I guess the Focus SVT uses some exotic tools.

·
Camera 1, Camera 2..Camera 1, Camera 2
7,494 Posts
The tools are cheap - just a cam holder bar (I guarantee they already have one that will fit) and a TDC pin for the crank. I would much prefer taking the car to a Euro shop to have the belt changed than some place that is used to working on Ford trucks. So long as you provide them with the procedure list from the OEM Ford manual, I'm sure they're more than competent.

Here's the kit I have and it's great. Massive makes killer products in my experiences:

http://massivespeedsystem.com/_massive_speed_system_/massive_absolute_timing_tool_family/mato8754/i-273565.aspx

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #9 (Edited)