Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone...

I'm new to this board (just got accepted over the weekend), and I have some really basic questions. Please don't flame me for my ignorance. I just bought a new 2003 ZX3 (still under 1000 miles), and I'm really looking forward to doing some nice modifications that can add a little horsepower, and make the car look better. I have zero experience in the automotive trade, but I'm a pretty quick learner. I do compete in the car audio world so anything with cars that revolves around that aspect I have experience in.

So, here are my questions:

1.) When you buy a body kit, what kind of difficulty is there with the installation? When you remove the front bumper, does the new front part of the kit just use the same hardware for installing it?

2.) As far as performace modifications, where is the best place to start? I've heard that adding an air intake is the best place, but I don't trust the source. Just wanted to get some input here about that.

That's about it for now. I'm thinking of taking some courses at the local college for some basic automotive knowledge. I have "some" knowledge, but it's so scattered and so basic that I still don't feel comfortable doing things myself. Since I'm a DIY kind of guy, I really want to learn about this stuff.

Thanks everyone,

Mike

·
Registered
19,264 Posts
Welcome n00b! Props for disclaiming the newbie question!

My advice... is just take a while reading everything and anything you can here in all the forums of interest... Exterior Mods and Zetec Tuning seem to be yours for now.

But as a guy whos done a little tuning, and wants to do so much more... start with an Under Drive Pulley and an Intake. I might recommend you check out FocusSport (http://www.focussport.com) as they've got great stuff for reasonable prices... and the most knowledgable people ever! (unless you got a 2.3L Duratec... and in that case... I'm jealous!)

·