Ford Focus Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys I'm new to the Focus ZX3 crowd..I was wondering what would get better gains. AF/X pulley and VOLANT intake or VOLANT Intake and Ported 2000 IM.I have a ATX and it sucks ours can't hold lots of power. My last car a 95 Olds Achieva had tons of torque and my auto tranny could hold 260ft-lbs of torue so if I start to go big I'm gonna do the Race overhaul kit for the Focus. Thanks!

·
Registered
2,375 Posts
I'm assuming he doesn't have an SPI, since he said he's "new to the Focus ZX3 crowd"... What's this race overhaul kit you speak of? I don't know what sort of gains you'd get from a ported intake manifold without porting your head as well; just go with the underdrive pulley and Volant to begin with

·
Registered
1,649 Posts
I'd definately suggest the ported Manifold and the Volant if thats your choice...

But with you being ATX like I am, I would suggest the Iceman Intake. The iceman is proven to have the best low-end tq gains, which is key in our slow ATX Foci.

As for the race overhaul. I have the fully built transmission by Performance Automatic and I love it!!... Even now with all my aftermarket stripped off, the car still pulls hard and shifts like a champ while running at stock power

By the way... Welcome to the Jet. Feel free to hit me up w/ any questions you have

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·