Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
okay so i am new to this, my wife has a 2001 focus zx3 and it was sputtering and cutting out like it wasn't getting enough air. I checked the IAC valve and it is in great shape, nothing clogging it up or stuck to it. There is nothing that was clogging the intake pipe or air box. I replaced the factory setup with a aftermarket intake from AEM. Now it is as if the car is getting to much air. It is very sluggish on take off and you can floor it even in 1st gear and it is like you're flooring it in 5th gear but only going 15 mph. It does get up and go after about 10 seconds of delay and cutting out. I just need some assitance as far as where to go from here and what the next step is. Also there are no vacuum leaks I replaced the hoses as well.

·
Registered
2,669 Posts
Almost sounds like your cat converter might be clogged up. You don't have aftermarket header do you? If you do, that might be the case. That's popular with people that go aftermarket route. It happened to me with the FS street header.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4