Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
3,199 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, now it\'s my turn to what is needed for this Hp??

242whp to the ground and remember I do have the ATX and would run a chip. This of course is 242whp N/A. Thanks

[ 01-02-2003, 09:34 PM: Message edited by: zetecinside ]

·
Registered
3,821 Posts
Re: Ok, now it\'s my turn to what is needed for this Hp??

why 242? why not 240 or 245? my guess would be a lot of $$$ if you were going NA.

I'd build a whole new engine for something like that personally. i'm no expert, but i'd say that just the bolt ons, even cams, isn't going to do it.

if i were trying for that kind of power with our motors i'd just go turbo. You're really going to waste your money otherwise. you could either build one awesome ($$$$$$) new NA motor with tons of work ($$$$$$$) or you could just buy a nice turbo kit and hit those numbers with what you already have.

Nate

·
Registered
213 Posts

I would sugest putting a svt contour engine in. with boltons and head work you can get a 165whp n/a. the lil 4cyl can only do so much. since you;d be pulling the engine out anyways for a rebuild why not put something [email protected]$$ in it

·
I change diapers now
14,444 Posts

Alex,

Focus Central has done 205whp with all bolt ons, headwork, cams and standalone.

Doing 40whp more than that on an Auto wouldn't be possible if you wanted to keep streetability or any cash in your pocket.

also you need to remember about the driveline loss, if FC did 205whp with a manual with an Auto(assuming it has been built to handle it)will only pull about 185-190whp because of the 10-15% more loss.

If you want high numbers like mentioned, please swap in a manual, it will make things much easier!

Not saying it isn't possible, anything is with enough money.

- Drew

[ 01-02-2003, 10:23 PM: Message edited by: focusownerskid ]

·
Registered
321 Posts

Originally posted by zetecinside: