Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am not as young as many of you on this forum I am a mid career professional. I have recently owned an S2000 and other sport sedans over the last 20 years. I was recently feeling a bit like my SVT Focus was not satisfying my sport car fever and so I decided the only available option was to begin my search for a more satisfying replacement. I was trying to keep my selection to $30k or under if possible.

I will spare you the details, but how my search has ended up is a surprise to me. I test drove the following 2003 models:

Saab 9-3 210HP turbo
Honda Coupe V6 240HP 6sp
Mazda 6S 220HP manual
Volkswagen Passat W8 (250+ HP)
Mazda RX8 (230+HP)

Every one of these was faster than our SVT Focus. Some of these were very satisfying to drive. I was particularly pleased with the overall package of the Saab 9-3. The W8 in the VW was big time torque and the Honda was fast and a pleasure just to sit in.

With a straight face I tell you that each time I got back in my SVT Focus, it was undeniably clear to me how very near perfection are the handling characteristics of our car. It is not as fast, but is so much better at handling and stability than so many other "sport coupes" that cost many thousands more.

Now, there are many reasons to choose to buy any of the cards I drove. I would probably be pleased with just about any of them for varying reasons. A good car has more to offer than a single good attribute. However, as much as I am in the buying mood and convincing myself that I want/need a more upscale sports sedan for myself, I cannot deny how I "feel" when I get back in to my SVT Focus and take that first hairpin turn on my way home

As much as I might wish I felt otherwise, I simply LOVE driving my SVT Focus. It beats the snot out of so many other cars out there that are presumed superior but simply aren't.