Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all- I am new to this forum and need some help with a 2006 2.0L Focus engine.

A little background on my project. My mother is a rural mail carrier. About 10 years ago my dad built her a mail vehicle using all 80's VW parts; its getting really hard to find those parts now. The body is a Grumman. He recently deiced to upgrade to something newer. He chose a focus. He got one out of a junk yard and stripped it and put it in the Grumman. He is ready to start it but having trouble but has an idea where to look.

What I am looking for is someone who can do some re-programming on the ecu. He would like the security systems deleted and a few other things. We are having trouble finding someone so I am hoping someone can help us out :)

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
860 Posts
Sorry it's been awhile since you posted, just saw this.

I'm no expert by any means, but I did swap a new ECU with a different code into my Focus. I can tell you for sure that you cannot disable the PATS (Passive Anti-Theft System.) This means you are going to have to use the keys that were used in the Focus you stripped the motor out of, since the ECU is programmed to them.

Lets say you didn't get them, or the ignition lock system off the steering wheel. You are going to have to get that stuff, whether out of the same car (cheaper) or another Focus. Really, you are going to need all of the wiring harness out of the engine compartment, everything from the ECU to the dash and to the fuel pump. Then, an auto locksmith can re-key the ignition cylinder and program the key to the ECU, just as if you'd lost every key you owned for the original car.