Ford Focus Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a few friends with imports mainly Honda's that have said i shud remove the air box resonator to more or less improve the sound and maybe the performance just slightly if at all.. Is removing the resonator worth doing even for just sound improvments, and secondly is ther any potential negative effects for the motor by doing so..? thid i my daily driver and im a college student without a ton of money :rolleyes: ..lol..

thanks in advance..:thumbup:

·
Registered
4,565 Posts
it will make it louder. my first custom intake for my car I removed that box, and drilled a 5 1" holes around the bottom side of the box to alow more air into the prefilter side of the box. I did not notice any appreicable hp gains. but did notice alot more intake noise. what might make more sence is, k&n make's a cone filter with a opening that fits right on the maf housing. so you can make a basic short ram intake with your only investment being a filter. that is the setup I ran on my car for a long time after I tried cai's and other short ram intakes.

here is a pic of my old setup

good luck

·
Registered
55 Posts
When I got my ZX3 the resonator AND snorkel were off (I think the previous owner had a CAI and just slapped on the stock airbox to trade it in). Anyway, I've acquired a stock snorkel and I'm trying to figure out what to do about the resonator. I'd like to do something performance-oriented, and based on what I've read here and elsewhere, the Iceman intake incorporates an SVT-like pipe that attaches where our stock Zetec resonator is on the side of the airbox:

http://www.myfordfocus.com/how-to/ice-man.htm

From that link I found THIS tutorial on a cheap and easy way to make your own Iceman tube to replace your resonator:

http://www.myfordfocus.com/how-to/ice-man-clone.htm

Later I came across THIS thread which might be of further interest to you: