Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, this is kind of lame, but I am a newbie, and only have 2000 miles on my '03 ZX3.

First off, is there a rev limiter on my car, and if so, what is the top speed? It is a manual transmission, and I haven't tried pushing it to the limit yet.

Also, how many HP is the stock '03 ZX3?

Yeah, I am a newb...

-=J=-

·
Registered
1,531 Posts
rev limiter is 7200 rpms. speed governor halts you at 108 mph. base HP is about 130.

·
I change diapers now
14,444 Posts
The Rev. limiter is 6750 on the normal Zetec and 7200 on the SVT Zetec.

- Drew

·
Driver > Car
23,988 Posts
the diablochip bumps up the rev limiter to 7100, what does it raise the governor to?

·
I change diapers now
14,444 Posts
It takes out the gov. completely.

- Drew

·
Registered
662 Posts
Originally posted by focusownerskid:
It takes out the gov. completely.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Does not.
The speed limiter on most "standard" performance tunes is raised by 30mph over the stock setting. It is not "removed" completely. On some EEC code, the speed limiter is not changed at all, usually the automatics.

You guys with 2003 vehicles, there are some EEC codes that neither Superchips or Diablosport have downloads for yet, which means you may not be able to get a chip burned.

If you know your EEC code, I would be happy to check the dealer download areas to confirm if either company has a burn for your code.

If you don't know your code, or how to find it, check out this How-To Article:
http://www.myfordfocus.com/how-to/pcm.htm

·
Registered
1,535 Posts
Originally posted by David Anderson:
shiva...I had my zx3 with the same code as you at 130ish, car wouldnt pull anymore, but the speed limiter sure didnt kick in.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">It must be the szr series then. They gave me the xau0 for it and I still have my speedlimiter and diablo doesn't intend on fixing that yet.

·
Registered
944 Posts