Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Potato Camera Operator
8,401 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
DISCLAIMER: I'm brand new to this stuff. If I'm dead wrong on any of this, I am more than glad to be told so. Don't pull any punches, and feel free to tell it like it is. I'm looking for a productive conversation, I'm not looking for a bunch of people to agree with my plan and tell me I'm awesome. If you disagree with any of my poorly-built theories, please tell me, and tell me why! I'm excited to do this, but I'm more interested in doing it right than anything else.

I've been waffling from option to option in terms of what I wanted to do with my Focus once I had the funds to get serious with it. I knew I wanted a high-quality and aggressive suspension set-up, which I now have; but I've been unclear on what I want out of the drivetrain. I know don't want extreme power, and I do know I want to keep it FWD. I've considered a high-compression 3.0 Duratec with individual throttle bodies, I've considered a high-compression 4-cylinder with ITBs, I've ever considered putting a built 2.0 in the car because I like the way they rev. For years, though, I've been certain that turbocharging was not the path for this car.

I guess at this point, I'm sick of waiting around to make up my mind, and I just want to get the car where I'd like it. Plus, I've now got TWO other cars I can chase my natural aspirations with (HA! GET IT?). So, I've made a deal which will be pointing my Focus in the direction of forced induction by way of a FocusSport (yes, it's old) turbo system. I found a low-mileage setup with a 28R and water-cooled conversion for dirt cheap, and have decided to pull the trigger. The system has right around 30,000 miles on it, and the seller is confident that everything is in perfect working order. Considering who fabricated and assembled the system, I have a hard time doubting him. Now for the current specs...

2006 ZX4 ST, 2.3L Duratec MTX-75
FSWerks Stage 2