Ford Focus Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recently, I've been hearing this "bird-like" chirping sound coming from one of my rear wheels. It happens intermittently while I'm driving at regular speeds or coming to a stop. I hear a little high-pitched "chirp" with each wheel revolution ... so basically, the delay between each "chirping" becomes greater as I decrease my speed.

Can someone help me out and tell me what could be causing this and what needs to be done in order to fix it?

BTW, my cars is a 2000 focus ZTS (4 door) and on my last service at the dealership, I've had my rear drum brake baking plates lubed and the mechanic told me that my rear brakes would need to be changed soon.

I am new to car mechanics in general. So I don't really see how worn rear drum brakes would cause this sound because it happens when I'm driving ... but I might be wrong.

Oh, and one last question. What needs to be changed if the mechanic said my rear drum brakes were worned out. Is it just the pads or the shoes too? What's the difference between pads and shoes? Do I need to replace the whole drum assembly?

Thanx for helping a new focus owner!

·
Registered
115 Posts
I'm not an expert of drum braks, but brakes in general have wear indicators that make high pitched noises to let you know that it's time for service. Seeing as how the mechanic told you that you'll need service on the brakes soon, it makes sense that they are noisy.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Drum brakes will retract and not rub like disk brakes and should make no noise when you are not touching the pedal. Unless something is caught in the drum iteslf or a spring is loose, etc, I think the brakes are not your noise problem. Mine squeak a few times until the rust is worn off from sitting at night.