Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
891 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Good evening, folks. I finally installed the SVT JRSC BBK on my Zetec powered kit car. I had been running the zetec JRSC BBK for a couple of years now and wanted a bit more power and a bit less IATs...

If you're interested in how the zetec JRSC ran, see this thread: http://forums.focaljet.com/showthread.php/677455-Zetec-JRSC-no-boost

Anyway, so...I bought a beat-up old SVT Focus that had it installed, took the JRSC out and shipped it to Stiegemeier for full rebuild and porting.

Per some great advice here http://forums.focaljet.com/showthread.php/680930-Zetec-vs-SVT-intake-flange-mating-for-JRSC, I then had a machine shop slot the mounting holes on the SVT JRSC to drop the whole assembly slightly and have the ports align. Seemed to do the job.

As part of the swap, I also switched to using the fuel rail which came the JRSC and thus switched to the SVT fuel pressure sensor and FPR.

Pretty much everything else remains the same, at least for now: same intake tube/MAF, same 42lb injectors, same ECU tune, etc. Figured I may need to retune afr slightly and possibly upgrade the fuel pump if it runs out of steam, but it should run reasonably well as is.

Finished the installation this evening and went to fire up the car. First it wouldn't run at all and threw P0190 and P0193 - realized the pinout on the SVT fuel pressure sensor is not the same order as the Zetec - the white and yellow are swapped in case you ever run into this. Once that was fixed, the car would idle happily.

Now for the problem...the second I give it almost any gas, the car dies. As I move the throttle body lever, I can see the bypass actuator close the bypass valve on the JRSC and as that happens, the car dies - as though all air was shut off.