Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
501 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
SVTF Rear brakes Q\'s

Its about that time to get my rear brakes done. I had just done the fronts a month ago and those were cake. I have never done rear brakes before and have heard the calipers/piston are diffrent and trickey on some. Some are a screw type piston and you need a special tool to screw it back in. Is ours like this? If so where whould i be able to get one online? If not then this would be just as easy as the front. Is there a how-to post anywhere? That would be awsome. Thanks Guys.

·
Registered
1,080 Posts
Re: SVTF Rear brakes Q\'s

The "tool" is pretty simple and cheap - I think I got one for like $5 at AutoZone a few years back.

But sorry, I haven't done my rear brakes yet, so I can't help you there. Try a search, I seem to remember seen a how-to not long ago.

·
Registered
411 Posts

I recently did my rear brakes. I purchased the tool at Autozone. It's very easy to use. You'll just need a ratchet with an extension (4" worked for me). Find the side that best fits the notches in the piston (it's a universal tool). Loosen the brake fluid reservoir cap. While applying pressure, turn the piston until it is compressed in. It should only take a rotation or two. Sliding the new pads into place and getting the caliper back in position is probably the hardest part. The parking brake cable and brake hose doesn't allow much movement. I had a little trouble getting the caliper off because a lip formed around the edge of the rotor. It helped to file off the lip. If you are replacing the rotors, you'll probably have to use a large hammer to knock them loose. Mine were really stuck. Good luck.

·
Registered
501 Posts
Discussion Starter #4

ANyone have a part no# for the tool? If so where can i get one? Online?

·
Registered
1,080 Posts

Yep, that's the one.

·
Registered
411 Posts