Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,383 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This was the first year for me AutoXing and I have done pretty well considering I am new to the sport. I have been entering my SVT Focus in STS class with a set of lightweight 17" wheels wrapped with my stock rubber. The ContiSports have done very well for me but I am buying a nearly new set of tires from a friend of mine that are on wheels identical to mine that I am running on now. They tires are Kuhmo ECSTA MX which I have heard are very decent tires for Autox use, but the tires are a bit smaller then I would have gotten if I had bought them new. They are 205/40/17 instead of the stock tire size of 215/45/17/. My question is which tires are going to be better for my last AutoX of the year? I know that the Smaller sized Kuhmo's will give me a little better gearing while accelerating, but I don't know if they change in tire size will decrease my traction going around corners. Let me know what you guys think.

·
Registered
334 Posts
In my opinion the tire sizes are so close that given identical tire makes and construction you won't notice any measureable difference. With the Kumho MX tires you WILL notice a difference in performance due to the grippier compound versus the stock Continentals; even though the MX tires are fractionally smaller overall they more than make up for the smaller size with a construction and compound that are more suited to autocrossing, so your times should improve somewhat. Now, if you did what I did this year in SCCA autoX with my SVTF, you'd notice a BIG difference; I went with aftermarket 16" x 7" wheels, 42mm offset rather than the stock 49mm, and the Falken Azenis tires in size 215/45-16. I'm driving the highly-modded BMW guys nuts in DSP and I'm currently in 2nd place for the year-end championship with a bone-stock SVTF except for the wheels and tires!

·
Banned
17,312 Posts
I'll concur w/ the above post.

·
Registered
1,383 Posts