Ford Focus Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here so I hope I'm posting this properly. I have a 2001 Focus with 116,000 Mi., automatic, Zetec. Engine runs fine. The problem is a vibration, very loud, when I start the car; especially prominent on these (now) cold mornings. As the car warms up, after about 15 minutes, the vibration lessens but still seems to be there, slightly. It's on the right front side. Anyone guess as to what the problem is?

Newbie in CT

·
Registered
11,255 Posts
Welcome to Focaljet.

Do you feel any vibrations parked or in gear? What about in reverse? What about at the stop lights?

Given your car's age and mileage, I have a feeling it may be your motor mounts. There are three: driver's side; passenger side, and transmission/engine underneath the car.

·
Registered
6,092 Posts
Depending on how severe the viration is (grinding vs thumping) it could be a pulley bearing or water pump bearing, or it could be a passager mount.

It is also possible for the timing belt idler and tensioner to allow the belt to drift into contact with the inside of the mount bracket, and that will grind and vibrate a little harsher than just a bearing going out. You can tell if it's that by removing the timing cover and seeing if you belt is moving off the cam gears.

Look at and wiggle everything mentioned.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·