Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need some help what are some upgrades that I can do to the engine that are relative inexpensive that will make a diff what I was thinking was:

Cold Air Intake
New Exhaust (headers to tip)
Sport Chip (maybe the Diablo)

I have a 5 speed

As you can probably tell I am new at the performance section so any views would be helpful

thanks in advance

·
Registered
242 Posts
There have been many posts on this. I think the most inexpensive (in order of price for HP) are the following:

1) Underdrive Pulley
2) Cold Air Intake
3) 65mm Throttle Body
4) Cat-back Exhaust

Then maybe finish off the exhaust with a header, flexpipe, and possibly cat. Afterwards, you have to decide whether you want to get inside the engine or not. I chose the second option and sprang for a port and polish, cams, cam gears, and the head internals. Hope this helps! Good luck.

·
I change diapers now
14,444 Posts
Cold Air Intake:

Volant CAI - www.newedgperformance.com

Full Exhaust:

FocusSport Race Header(deletes catalytic convertor) - www.focussport.com

FocusSport Flex-Pipe(flex joint that provides flex between the header and exhaust) - www.focussport.com

Bosal Exhaust - www.newedgeperformance.com

Chip:

DiabloSport - www.focussport.com

Of course, don't take my word for it.

Do a search for those products in this forum, and go to the sites.

Do as much research as you can before you makea purchase, be sure that is what you want before you spend your hard earned money on it.

- Drew

·
Registered
662 Posts
Kind of late to be handing the Christmas list off to the wife now isn't it

Make sure you check out the Sponsor Deals message board, there are some pretty good deals going on...

The choices for the your list are many.