Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is this possible to do N/A? If not no biggie. I am just wondering what it would really take to run a 14.4-14.6. I had a 98 Z28 that I had to sell and I am itching to get some grunt out of this car (02 ZX5 5spd) Is this even feisable to do on stock internals? I am VERY new to this motor and just want a little ino. Thanks for the input!

·
Registered
94 Posts
I would assume you could run 14's all motor on stock internals.
I'm pretty sure you'd have to buy all the bolt-ons along w/ a 2000 intake mani. And most likely a p&p'd head. I am not exactly sure but it could give you an idea.
check out www.focussport.com
www.focus-central.com

·
Registered
411 Posts
well, it is doable...very doable indeed.

My friend has a Focus that runs a 14.2 in the 1/4

you would need a head package decked with aggressive cams, cam gears, lightened flywheel, clutch, gut the interior, cold air intake, race header, full exhaust, and flexpipe. Some drag radials would work too. Then if you want to step it up a notch...throw a wet n2o setup in there too(with something to pull timing while on the bottle).
Depending on how radical you get with the n2o, you would have to get rods and pistons. You should also look into getting a J&S Safeguard if you get that far.

I hope that helps out. I hope you are a good driver too....traction isn't on our side...

·
Registered
3,821 Posts
not to be a big nay-sayer to the NA crowd, but it'd be much easier just to go FI. seriously with a nice turbo kit you'll be hitting 14's with no problem. zman has the aerocharger on his car and with just the SFMS, a full interior, a cat-back, and stock everything else he ran 13.8 and dynoed around 220whp. that's a lot of grunt for around $3-3.5k if you want some real power check out turbotom's full turbo kit. for $5200 his kit has EVERYTHING and dynos at around 300+whp.