Ford Focus Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
273 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just passed an emissions test the other day with flying colors so it's not an emissions related issue.

When driving at 'normal' speeds, or dinking around in traffic, there is no smell at all.

But at higher speeds I start to smell a burning smell that goes away after I slow down and open my windows a bit.

I'm not an expert, so I have no way to tell if it's tires, oil, transmission, or something else making the smell but it's something that I think shouldn't be happening.

·
Registered
2,907 Posts
posibly your car is leaking some fluid. and at speed it blows on to a hot surface and burns off? or your just crazy
. is there anything else unusual that happens?

·
Registered
273 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Nothing really unusual, but sometimes esp. when slight incline and I'm accelerating hard (i.e. onramp at bottom of a hill) the car will have these tiny little jerks until I can ease off the pedal. This is probably not related..

As for leaks, that is possible, but how I can find out.. whenever I change my oil right underneath the engine block there is a 'bead' of oil. I tried to get it looked at at the dealership but they claimed that they couldn't see it, even though the body shop could. Then they claimed that cars sweat oil. The thing is, the 'bead' does not ever drip on my driveway. Not even once. So I've not been paying attention to it.

Can someone describe what oil, tires and tranny burning smells like?

·
Registered
2,907 Posts
its hard to describe the smell. but start the car and get it nice and warm. then drip a little of each fluid on your exhaust manifold. just a little. you dont want make a big mess. that way you can tell what each smells like

·
Registered
921 Posts